In 2025 the History Group were offered the unique opportunity, by the Charity’s Trustees, to take a look at and scan the Sternfield Town Lands historical documents. These papers recorded the money raised from rents on property owned by the Charity which was then used to provide assistance to the poor of their parish.
These documents were dated 1707 onwards though the first mention of the Sternfield Charity occurs in 1468, in the reign of Edward IV, some 558 years ago!
If you are not aware of the Charity then details can be found at Sternfield Church where a stone plaque was erected so that all would know about the Charity and its focus:
The property of arable & pasture land was called Town Farm which is now within the parish of Saxmundham.
Map dated 1903 showing Town Farm, courtesy National Library of Scotland
A few pages from the Accounts book for the Charity stating that coal was distributed among the poor for Xmas 1926 & that Alfred Charles Taylor had leased the Charity’s Farm, called in 1926 ‘the Trust Farm’. Allotments were also rented out to individuals of the parish. Click on each image to expand.
The Farm, which is now within the parish of Saxmundham, was sold by the Sternfield Town Lands in 1939, however the cottages and allotments were held for some time after.










